Search form

You are here

Professionals Training Pathways

Depending on how much contact you have with children, young people or parents, and how much responsibility you have for child protection within your organisation, you will need different levels of training.

See below to find out which group you belong to:

See our training page to view courses appropriate to your training group.

Link to Top

Training Level 1

Staff who have infrequent contact with children, young people and/or parents/carers who may become aware of possible abuse or neglect.

Examples of Workers:

  • Librarians
  • GP's
  • Receptionists
  • Community Advice Centre Staff
  • Groundsmen
  • Recreation Assistants
  • Environmental Health Officers

Link to Top

Training Level 2

Those in regular contact or have a period of intense but irregular contact, with children, young people and/or parents/carers including all health clinical staff, who may be in a position to identify concerns.

For example, housing, hospital staff, YOT staff and staff in secure settings, the police other than those in specialist child protection roles, sports development officers, disability specialists, faith groups, community youth groups, play scheme volunteers.

Examples of Workers:

  • Housing
  • Hospital Staff
  • YOT Staff and Staff in Secure Settings
  • The Police other than those in specialist child protection roles
  • Sports Development Officers
  • Disability Specialists
  • Faith Groups
  • Comunity Youth Groups
  • Play Scheme Volunteers

Link to Top

Training Level 3

Members of the workforce who work predominantly with children, young people and/or their parents/carers and who could potentially contribute to assessing, planning, intervening and reviewing the needs of a child and parenting capacity where there are safeguarding concerns.

Examples of Workers:

  • Paediatricians
  • GP's
  • Youth Workers
  • Those working in the Early Years Sector
  • Residential Staff
  • Midwives
  • School Nurses
  • Health Visitors
  • Sexual Health Staff
  • Teachers
  • Probation Staff
  • Sports Club Welfare Officers
  • Those working with Adults in; for example; learning disability, mental health, alcohol and drug misuse services
  • Those working in Community Play Schemes

|Link to Top

Training Level 4-8

Level 4:
Members of the workforce who have particular responsibilities in relation to undertaking section 47 enquiries, including professionals from health, education, police and children’s social care; those who work with complex cases and social work staff responsible for co-ordinating assessments of children in need.

Level 5:
Professional advisors, named and designated lead professionals.

Level 6:
Operational managers at all levels including: practice supervisors; front line managers and managers of child protection units.

Level 7:
Senior managers responsible for the strategic management of services; NHS board members.

Level 8:
Members of the LSCB including: board members; independent chairs; directors of children’s services; elected members; lay members; members of executive and sub/task groups; business support team; inter-agency trainers.

* NB: In the Intercollegiate Document (2010), Levels 6-8 above correspond to Intercollegiate Level 6

Link to Top

Your feedback

Please let us know if this page was useful to you by answering the question below or by leaving a comment (or you can do both).